It’s Monday it must be Chatsworth

This meandering round the UK seeing friends and family is rather special.

There’s time for good conversations, catching up on news and enjoying being with people.  Today my brother Gerry and Brenda have a trip planned to Chatsworth House. (A complete contrast to the travelling circus of yesterday) Then the house party increases this evening.

Meanwhile my kitchen is being refurbished in Scotland and I am not  worrying about whether the cupboards are in the right place or if I should I have painted the walls white or magnolia (actually magnolia!)

I realise I’ve ‘Let Go’ and it feels fantastic.

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday it must be Chatsworth

  1. I was delighted to read your reactions to the animal parts and the children’s delight: in my young days, I would have given up the clowns and the dwarves and the gymnasts for the trapeze artists and the animals; they were the only acts which caught my imagination and fascinated me…

    I really admire the way you thought through your reactions, and totally share your view that nowadays it simply isn’t acceptable to have animal acts in the circus. The only animals which I felt seemed to want to engage with the process were the dogs and the horses, which have a much closer relationship with humans and mostly take willingly to being trained. Apart from whether they actually ENJOY being put through the capers required of them – and I actually think that the horses I used to see in the Knie Circus in Geneva, where there was a long family tradition, really seemed to be willing rather than constrained in what was for them an extension of dressage. But I always felt uncomfortable about seeing big cats, or elephants, be tamed into docility rather than left free to roam their natural habitats.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comments Joelle. I thought it was worth writing about and hope it will stimulate other people to think and maybe comment. Iindeed the conversation is still going on

      Like

Leave a Reply

